Windows 10 How to disable Connected User Experiences


Just when you thought it was gone!
The Diagnostic Tracking Service Has been renamed to
(Connected User Experiences Telemetry)

Microsoft finally went on record admitting that automatic spying within Windows 10 cannot be stopped. This sparked a lot of outrage and  it appeared Microsoft had done a sharp U-turn because the background service at the heart tracking (the ‘Diagnostics Tracking Service’ aka ‘DiagTrack’) appeared to have been removed. Critics celebrated and it was another well deserved pat on the back for Microsoft.

Well what Microsoft really did was just renamed DiagTrack. It is now called the ‘Connected User Experiences and Telemetry Service’ – which is both a) deliberately vague, and b) misleading (don’t ‘Connected User Experiences’ sound great).


If you check Services after the last major update Windows 10 Build 1511, you will notice that the Diagnostics Tracking Service is gone. Well not really, It seems that Microsoft has renamed the service to (Connected User Experiences and Telemetry instead) as shown below.


The Connected User Experiences and Telemetry service enables features that support in-application and connected user experiences. Additionally, this service manages the event driven collection and transmission of diagnostic and usage information (used to improve the experience and quality of the Windows Platform) when the diagnostics and usage privacy option settings are enabled under Feedback and Diagnostics. 

 To disable this service, do the following:

Windows-key or magnifying glass in lower left corner
 Type services.msc and hit enter


1. Locate the Connected User Experiences and Telemetry service
2 Double-click on the service.
3. Select Stop
4. Change the Startup Type of the service to disabled.


Check back regularly, not only in Services but also the privacy settings that Windows 10 lists in the Settings application and the changes that you had to make in the Group Policy Editor or the Registry directly, as there is no telling if things will be reset or changed again in the future.

Disable OneDrive in Windows 8.1 and Windows 10

Disable OneDrive in Windows 8.1 and Windows 10





One-drive in Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 can be disabled through your computer's Local Group Policy Editor. This doesn't remove One-drive from your PC, but it stops it from syncing with the cloud or connecting with other apps, and removes it from the navigation pane in File Explorer.




TIP Because disabling One-drive involves changing a Group Policy setting on your computer, it is disabled for everyone who uses that computer. If others use the computer, make sure they also want One-drive disabled.


  1. Press (Windows key) + R to open the Run box.

  2. Type gpedit.msc and click OK.

    In the Local Group Policy Editor, in the folder list under Local Computer Policy, navigate the folders to Local Computer Policy > Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components >OneDrive.


NOTE If you have any files or data in One-drive, you will not lose them if you disable or uninstall One-drive on your computer. You can always access your files by signing in to OneDrive.com

 First, you have to create a new key with the name OneDrive in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > Software > Policies > Microsoft > Windows (right-click). Then, you have to create a new DWORD (32-bit) value with the name DisableFileSyncNGSC under the newOneDrive key and set it to 1.

After you sign out and sign in again, the One Drive icon will have disappeared from File Explorer, and OneDrive can no longer sync data with the Microsoft cloud.

The policy disables OneDrive on Window 10 computers only if you use the ADMX template for Windows 10. You can easily verify which ADMX template you are working with.

The supported-on field of the newer policy, which also works for Windows 10, contains “At least Windows Server 2008 R2 or Windows 7” instead of “at least Windows 8.1 or Windows RT 8.1.”